Home About Events Sponsors News Extras


International Speycasting Tournament Showcases Local Talent
Inverness Angling Club Junior causes a stir at Tournament

International Science Conference is a Success
with lots of in-depth discussion and debate

School Visit to Scotland's Salmon Festival
Schoolchildren's salmon discoveries at the Bught Park Family Fair

Family Fun at Bught Park Fair
Food and Fun at Bught Park

An Entertaining Evening at EdenCourt
Film Night both entertaining and informative

Scotland's Salmon Festival 2017 Opens
Scott Mackenzie gives out casting tips

Salmon Run at Inverness Airport
Check out our Salmon Run at Inverness Airport

Launch coverage in the P&J
Juniors take the lead

Waiting List in Operation for Speycasting Tournament
Having reached 32 entrants for the Speycasting Tournament a waiting list is now in operation

Casting Schedule Extended
Speycasting Schedule Extended

Scotland's Salmon Festival Chair thanks some of our sponsors
Sponsors of Scotland's Salmon Festival brave the weather to join us at the launch last week

International Speycasting Tournament Showcases Local Talent

Speycasting Tournament 2017

The Inverness Angling Club Centenary Speycasting Tournament attracted international field of competitors.  In their Centenary year the Club hosted their largest tournament yet and as well as welcoming competitors from Norway, the US and across the UK, were also proud to put forward club members, including junior members.  15 year old Jordan Grant caused a stir with his longest cast of the tournament at an impressive 49 metres, this with a standard fly rod and only 6.5 metres behind the longest cast of the tournament of 155.5m by Geir Hansen who went on to win the overall competition.  The glorious weather added to a very enjoyable couple of days at the River Ness. The Highland Council sponsored a Civic Reception where prizes were awarded. The Junior competition was sponsored by The Scottish Ghillie and John Norris, the Ladies and Open competitions were sponsored by Ness Castle Lodges, Drumossie Hotel, Graham's of Inverness and Tomatin Distillery.

Speycasting Tournament 2017 winners

Speycasting Tournament winners: (from l-r) Vidar Naess, James Chalmers, Fraser Munro, Geir Hansen, Anita M. Strand, Donna O' sullivan, Jordan Grant, IAC President Graham Mackenzie, Blaine Kirk and Fraser Shanks.

Thanks to John MacPherson for images

Home About Events Sponsors News Extras